Top 10 Hard to Watch Films

dogville_2003_1

Okay then, this top 10 is for all you sickos out there, like me. What can I say about these 10 films? These are the films that make you turn away, vomit in your mouth, cringe. These are the films you say, “Don’t worry, I got this” to, then end up crying like a baby even though you’re a fully grown adult. As with every top 10, the films listed are, in my personal opinion, the most difficult to watch. You may disagree, you may think I overlooked a film. If so, post a comment below so I can check it out and maybe edit the list in the near future.

Oh, I almost forgot. WARNING: If you are underage, easily offended, or plain and simple don’t enjoy these types of films, stop reading now. If you happen to read it by chance, I’m sorry, there is no way finishing this article ended well for you. If you plan on reading this article and have any questions about the films listed, feel free to post them in the comment section. I don’t put any reviews or film information in the top 10 because I don’t want to spoil anything. I usually have reviews for the films listed already on my site if you want to check those out. So, if you plan on watching any of these films and want to know more, let me know and I’ll help to guide you the best I can.

I AM NOT JOKING! IF YOU CAN’T HANDLE WHAT IS BEYOND THIS SENTENCE, TURN BACK NOW!

I warned you…

Honourable Mentions: I Stand Alone and Dogville.

i_stand_alone_01

SERIOUSLY, THIS IS YOUR LAST GOD-DAMN CHANCE TO TURN BACK.

Here we go…

10: Eraserhead.

Why?: A deformed, mutant baby that is quite possibly the most sickening thing you will ever see in your life.

f100eraserhead

9: Antichrist.

Why?: A man ejaculates blood, in full detail.

6a00e54ee7b64288330120a5cde546970c-500wi

8: Eden Lake.

Why?: Two, separate people are burned alive, also in fully detailed scenes.

edenlake2

7: Irreversible.

Why?: There is literally a 10-15 minute rape scene in unspeakable detail.

irreversible-hall

6: Inside.

Why?: Obscene amounts of detailed violence and gore.

inside-movie-scissors

5: Snowtown.

Why?: A teenage boy is forced to shoot a dog for no good reason. This is the scene that disturbed me the most, but trust me, there is plenty more where that came from in Snowtown.

snowtown645__120302101650

4: Salo.

Why?: People are forced to eat shit, but there is plenty of other, unsettling content throughout.

salo_1975

3: Cannibal Holocaust.

Why?: Let’s make this easy, a rock is forced into a vagina.

cannibal-holocaust-1

2: Martyrs.

Why?: Honestly, take your god-damn pick. Maybe because a woman is literally skinned alive, amongst other nerve-shredding scenes.

martyrs-7

1: A Serbian Film.

Why?: I am too disgusted to write any act of the despicable magnitude of which occurs in this film. Don’t watch it, while most films on this list have merit, this has no artistic value and it simply exists to disgust you. No one will ever convince me otherwise.

a-serbian-film-e1346631223634

If you think I overlooked a film or wrongfully ordered these 10 films, please leave a comment below.

About Joseph@thecinemamonster

Aspiring writer who absolutely adores film and television. thecinemamonster.com

Posted on May 17, 2013, in Top 10s and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. I kept waiting for a David Cronenberg film. Have you seen any of his movies? They’re pretty cold. Luckily, I’ve only seen one of these (Eraserhead) and agree that that baby was quite revolting.

    Also, I just rented Dogville and now I’m kinda scared to watch it. 🙂

    • Are you kidding me? I’m a huge Cronenberg fan, have all of his movies. However, in comparison to these films, his disturbing content doesn’t measure up. Dogville is a terrific movie, just really bizarre and unsettling. Have fun watching and let me know what you think :).

      • Lol, just checking. It must be a tough list to have no Cronenberg. Of course, if Salo is only number four, you know it’s gonna have some incredibly disgusting movies. I’ll definitely let you know when I see Dogville. 🙂

      • If you can make it through any film on this list, consider yourself a champ. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Dogville!

  2. I’m probably a big wimp but I’ve seen none of these and its because they look so disturbing. I’d maybe add an honourable mention for Ichi the Killer

    • Yes, I should have added Ichi to the honourable mention. It’s okay, you’re not a wimp. These films aren’t for everyone, I just like to push myself to experience all facets of the spectrum.

  3. Good list. Um… I’ve only seen Eraserhead. I won’t be watching any others. I’m a MEGA wuss. 🙂

  4. Agree with every entry! Enter the Void I found perhaps more difficult to watch than Irreversible and I Stand Alone though, and Audition, Threads and Jack Ketchum’s The Girl Next Door I think can comfortably share company with the above titles also.
    Enjoying browsing through your blog.
    Jordan

    • Thanks Jordan! I’ve been meaning to watch The Girl Next Door, I’ll need to get on that. I didn’t find Enter the Void supremely disturbing like the films listed. But like you said, that’s the beauty of opinion. Feel free to stop by anytime 🙂

  5. I just wanted to stop by here and mention you have picked some really disturbing movies on this list. Irreversible gave me nightmares for a month and I still cant shake some of the images from my head. Same thing goes for Martyrs, but both are very well made and the acting is phenomonal. Not watching Salo or Serbian film. Dont care to.

    • Martyrs literally makes my skin crawl, I can’t watch that film too often. Irreversible affects me roughly the same. Like you said, both are very well made and don’t exist simply for shock value. Salo is no where near as bad, but Serbian film has no merit, simply made for shock value. One of the most insignificant films I’ve ever seen.

  6. Wow, what a list of horrors you have compiled!
    I’ve never seen it and never will, but The Human Centipede immediately comes to mind for a list like this. And I might just be too sensitive, but when I saw The Butterfly Effect in theatres years ago I was quite disturbed and couldn’t shake that feeling for a long time.

  7. A good many of these are already on the list in my head I doubt I’ll ever view. A Serbian Film is definitely on the one that I’ll never, ever watch. I’d only add the film ‘Snuff’. A ’76 Argentinian film I had the dissatisfaction of projecting for a week back in the day. It was an independent small production made to look like a real snuff film. Think pre-Guinea Pig films from Japan (another series to add to your viewing (dis)pleasure), just with poor gore effects, acting, and the ill-conceived idea that the movie-going public was yearning for an approximation of the heinous type of film depicting the actual murder of a person.

    Fine write-up, Joseph.

    • Don’t ever see “A Serbian Film!” I always try to find value in every film, and I love the gruesome, gory, demented aspects of horror as much as the next, but I just can’t stand that flick. It feels, at least for me anyway, that everything was contrived, created just for shock and nothing else. Not a big fan of the Guinea Pig series, but I’ve never seen the film Snuff you mentioned. Maybe it’s time I give it a watch ? ;).

  8. I have seen them all except Serbian… I have to say I don’t think my life is better for having seen any of them but I am drawn to these movies for some reason. Men Behind the Sun (1988) comes to mind as one that is missing from the list. Or How about Funny Games?

  9. I am officially scared…That cannibal one looks freaky.

  10. Irreversible is the first one that came to mind for me. Man bites dog was fine for most of it, but one scene really jarred. Itchi the Killers’ torture scene was pretty far out too.

  11. I watched all the movies, all are great horror movies. Just what I was looking for, thanks. Greetings from Holland :P:P

  12. Snowtown, what a movie. Based on true crime. Even the music at the start of the movie, if you can call it music, was creepy. Movie left me feeling funny inside for days after. A must see.
    Cheers from Cape Town, South Africa.

  13. In a Glass Cage should definitely be on this list. I think it ranks right beside A Serbian Film in its disturbing subject matter and depravity. Besides myself, I don’t know anyone who has ever seen or heard of it…or wanted to after knowing what happens in it.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tras_el_cristal

  14. I agree with you, they are all quite vile!

  15. I’ve seen six of the ten films on this list including A Serbian Film, Inside and Martyrs. You’re right; they are all hard to watch films and yet with the exception of ‘Serbian’ I have re-watched them at least once. Inside three times, even: I wanted to show it to my wife. She actually liked it and she rarely, if ever, sees movies that gory and disturbing. Great post, Joseph.

  16. I would put Salo over Serbian, also the August Underground trilogy should be on here, I think they are more disturbing then a few of the films on this list.

  17. fassbinderisdead

    I’m not sure, but I think “Men Behind the Sun” and “The Human Centipede 2”, must have at least a mention on this list.

  18. A Serbian Film was pretty freaking nuts! The end of the movie seriously made me want to vomit with how disturbing it was but I had to see it for myself to see what all the fuss was about, I definitely won’t ever be watching again that’s for sure. Also it has subtitles for those brave enough to watch, I was able to find it with English subtitles on YouTube 🙂 ..Cannibal Holocaust was messed up too but no where near as bad as people made it out to be. I’ll most definitely be looking into these movies, thank you for the list!

  19. I think that simply for gore and shock value, Nutbag and Murder Set Pieces should get at least an honorable mention 😉

  20. Need to include Melancholie der Engle (Melancholy of Angels) on this list. For me personally it ranks just below A Serbian Film. Yes — it’s THAT depraved, with no redeeming value whatsoever (except for the possible exception of the cinematography). Seriously, it’s a real sick-o.

  1. Pingback: Tribbles, Hangovers & the Great Gatsby | filmhipster

Leave a Reply

