Top 10 Pixar Films

Pixar_Wallpaper

Over here at The Cinema Monster, I haven’t been giving enough credit or designating much time to the animated genre…that’s all going to change. After recently starting to post reviews of my all-time favourite animated comic book films, it’s time to get into full-length features, starting with this top 10.

Pixar is one of the most illustrious, prolific, profitable, and overall successful studios in existence for a reason and are well deserving of their own top 10 list. Since 1995, Pixar has released a total of 14 films and earned nearly 10 billion dollars worldwide. All 14 flicks are amongst the highest grossing animated films of all time, while “Toy Story 3” and “Finding Nemo” both found their way into the top 50 highest grossing films of all time. That being said, Pixar’s achievements aren’t limited toย box office success and critical acclaim. The studio, in total, has earned 27 Oscar nominations in numerous categories and have won a staggering 7 times for creating the best animated film of the year. Not to mention the countless Golden Globe and Grammy wins, in addition to being nominated by the academy for best picture of the year, twice. I think it’s safe to say that Pixar has earned their reputation and status.

The criteria I compiled this top 10 upon, aside from personal preference obviously, is story, soundtrack, character strength, and visual appeal. However, because this is my personal blog/website, my preference will have the final decision in the end. As always, if you feel I’ve overlooked a film or listed one that shouldn’t have been included, feel free to comment below. I’m always open to others opinions and love hearing your thoughts, whether it has to do with the top 10 itself, ways to improve the segment, or topic suggestions.

That’s it, no more dilly-dallying, let’s get started!

 

10: “A Bug’s Life”

The second oldest film on the list having been released in 1998. “A Bug’s Life” might not be as unique or structurally strong as Pixar’s future endeavours, but memorable characters and striking visuals make “A Bug’s Life” one of Pixar’s first smash-hits.

a-bugs-life

 

9: “Ratatouille”

With some terrific humour, a heartfelt story, and outstanding CGI. “Ratatouille” was a brilliant bounce back after a minor speed bump with “Cars.”

ratatouille

 

8: “Toy Story 2”

What I feel to be the weakest entry into the “Toy Story” trilogy, which isn’t saying much considering all three are essentially immaculate. “Toy Story 2” is without a doubt one of the best sequels ever made and is as fresh and visually appealing as the first.

scaled_toystory2

 

7: “The Incredibles”

Well, it’s definitely more ambitious and violent than a majority of Pixar’s films. Yet, “The Incredibles” is an enjoyable adventure and is one of Pixar’s more original creations.

IncrediblesWallpaper1024

 

6: “Monsters Inc.”

What I feel to be one of Pixar’s most underrated films. “Monsters Inc” is intelligent, endearing, and utterly entertaining.

monsters-inc-508033d0ef28c

 

5: “Toy Story 3”

A near-perfect finale to a timeless, transcendent trilogy. “Toy Story 3” might be the most difficult Pixar film to watch, only because it signals the end of an era.

Toy-Story-3

 

4: “Finding Nemo”

“Finding Nemo” is hilarious, visually hypnotic, and captivating. Withย amazing voice work, the characters truly become three-dimensional and the story comes alive and practically leaps from the screen.

cp_FWB_FindingNemo_20120926

 

3: “Toy Story”

This is where it all begin. Without “Toy Story,” who knows where Pixar would be now. It is literally impossible not to enjoy this masterpiece.

Toy-Story

 

2: “Up”

Incredibly disheartening, visually striking, and infinitely enthralling. “Up” might be a little too mature for its intended audience. Nonetheless remains, sweet, smart, and unquestionably entertaining.

up

 

1: “Wall-e”

For me, this is a no-brainer. Easily Pixar’s most intelligent, visually breathtaking, and memorable release to date. With its entrancing characters and clever story, “Wall-e” truly sets the bar.

wall-e-and-eve

 

Alright then, that’ll do it for this week’s top 10, hope you all enjoyed it. Have a great weekend!

About Joseph@thecinemamonster

Aspiring writer who absolutely adores film and television. thecinemamonster.com

Posted on August 23, 2013, in Top 10s and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. I’m not a big animated guy but there are some really good movies on this list. What a fun read.

  2. I would completely agree that Wall-e is a no-brainer. In my view the first 20 minutes is sheer perfection. I am glad to see the ‘Cars’ films not on here, they are definitely Pixar’s weakest.

  3. Glad to see Cars and Brave not on the list. The first Toy Story will always be my #1, though. And I am glad you have 1 and 3 above 2, which most people love the most but I don’t quite understand.

    • Yeah, there was no way those two were making the list. Toy Story is definitely up there for me, I know it’s number 1 on a lot of cinephiles lists. I never really took as well to the second as I did to the first and third, glad to hear I’m not alone :).

  4. Thing I love about Pixar lists is that everyone’s is different, it’s so hard to do! Toy Story would be my number one and I’m not a huge fan of Finding Nemo but I do love Wall-E, such a remarkable film.

    • So true, everyone’s got their favourites, but you really can’t go wrong with Pixar. That being said, Toy Story seems to be the general consensus for the number 1 spot. I really love Finding Nemo and Wall-e is truly outstanding!

  5. The big question….what’s the worst?

  6. Very strong list here, it’s so fun to see these lists compiled and think of all the different ways they can be arranged. Especially with Pixar. A truly remarkable, revolutionary studio. The fact that there can be this much differentiation with simply one studio’s output is incredible.

  7. I’ve been making my way through Pixar’s films in my installments of Animation Corner on my blog, and it would be extremely difficult for me to do a top ten list for Pixar (although the only Pixar film I know I would definitely not include on such a list is Cars 2, an extremely rare misfire on Pixar’s part).

  8. I would have to put UP above WALL-E but it’s close : ) nice post today!

  9. Nice list. Wall-E would be my number one as well.

  10. Glad to see Wall*E as number one, LOVE that film, it’s fun and full of heart. I like A Bug’s Life a lot, probably would be higher on my list but really, most of Pixar stuff are awesome!

    • Thanks Ruth! Happy to hear you agree :). Wall-e is definitely my favourite, although Up is a close second. A Bug’s Life is fun as well, just not in my opinion. It’s hard to go wrong with any Pixar film…well…except Cars 2.

  11. Love to see all the credit for Wall-E! Its definitely one of the best Pixar’s. Just the fact that there isn’t much dialogue but still is so awesome is great ๐Ÿ™‚ Although, my #1 would probably be Up! Still, love your list!

  12. I did this top ten recently too (maybe you commented – can’t remember. I think so!). Not quite the same but our number one definitely is. Good job! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Oh, I just saw Toy Story 3 for the first time this week and I’ll admit, I cried my eyes out at the end! It brought me back to the intensely sad days of The Land Before Time movies.

Leave a Reply

