The Guest List: Mr. Rumsey’s Film Related Musings

cropped-september-132

Well, it might be only the third edition of The Guest List, but I think it’s already a huge success. It’s accomplished exactly what I had hope, introduced fellow film lovers to one another, spurred on some debate, and definitely stirred the pot. And I can already tell that this week’s edition featuring James from Mr. Rumsey’s Film Related Musings is only going to improve upon the segment. If you don’t know who James is or haven’t already followed/subscribed to his website, I highly recommend you do so right now. You’ll find some solid reviews, terrific articles, and a lovely segment entitled “Who’s That?” when you head on over. I promise, you won’t be disappointed!

Now, I have to get some administrative stuff out of the way. For those of you who have signed up for The Guest List segment, could you please post a comment below on when I can be expecting your article. I am very organized about my posting and would love to get a schedule going with this segment.

If you’d like to submit your very own top 10 to The Guest List, here’s how to do it! First, shoot me an e mail (thecinemamonster@gmail.com) with your name, website info (if you have one), and the topic you have chosen for your top 10. If I like what I see, I’ll give you the all clear and you can begin composing your entry. Make sure to include a descriptive, yet brief introduction and a picture or clip for every entry in your top 10. Use my own top 10s as references. Then, send it back to me and we will discuss a date of publish.

Also guys, please if you haven’t already, check out my TIFF 2013 reviews. I wouldn’t usually beg like this, but I worked extremely hard on them. It is totally worth your while, there are a bunch of films reviewed that haven’t even be released yet with plenty more write-ups to come. So head on over to a review or two by clicking on the picture under the sidebar entitled TIFF 2013.

Okay, now that the boring stuff is all taken care of, I am going to turn things over to James, enjoy!

Top 10 Films of the 2000s: by James

Thanks Joseph for allowing me to spread my opinions out across your blog here! This is my pick of the top ten films of the last decade. There are endless films which could have made it into here but didn’t, such as Oldboy, so feel free to criticise, praise, rant or rave at me and my choices in the comment section below! For now though, take a look at what I did pick out:

10: Spirited Away

This charming tale of a young girl who ends up in a mysterious place inhabited by gods and monsters is the only animated film to make it onto this list, and it truly deserves its place here. It’s some of the finest animated storytelling of all time, and a personal favourite to re-watch.

MV5BMjYxMDcyMzIzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDg2MDU3._V1._SX450_SY635_

9: Battle Royale

Shockingly different to the previous entry; Battle Royale has kids killing each other off in all sorts of ways after being forced into a nightmarish situation. For its satirical commentary and also sheer entertaining spectacle Battle Royale makes it onto this list.

Battle_royale_pochette

8: Volver

One of the first films that introduced me to Almodóvar, Volver quickly became one of my favourite films for it’s well handled and performed story of loss and redemption. If I said any more I would spoil it, but please do seek it out if you haven’t already seen it.

MV5BMjA0NTUxMjY1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjI2OTMzMQ@@._V1._SX640_SY947_

7: Kill Bill: Volume 1

I often describe the final third of this film as being perfect cinema; and anyone who listens long enough will hear me rant and rave about the use of colour and music, the well-handled action, and the enormous sense of fun that Tarantino seems to be having which then crosses on over to the audience. The rest of the film isn’t too far off this level of entertainment either, making Kill Bill an obvious entrant into my list here.

killbill1poster

6: The Pianist

Adrien Brody is incredible here as he takes us through the destruction of the Warsaw ghetto. This isn’t an easy or an uplifting watch, but it’s certainly one that lingers in your mind for a long time after the credits roll.

The pianist

5: Hero

This is one stunning film. The focus on the splendour of the visuals may not be for everyone, but Hero really deserves more praise than it often gets. It is not a fast paced action film; rather it’s an exploration of movement.

hero-2002-2

4: City of God

Now this is where the list becomes really tricky, I can play around with the ordering of these last four movies endlessly and quite happily put any four of them in first place. City of God is a tale of violence set in Rio de Janeiro and is essential viewing if you haven’t already seen it. The directing style and rawness to the film makes it a pretty special watch.

MV5BMjA4ODQ3ODkzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwOTc4NDI3._V1._SX400_SY593_

3: No Country for Old Men

Javier Bardem is an unforgettable presence in what is arguably the Cohen brothers’ best film, and yet its success is not all down to those three. Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones and Kelly Macdonald all contribute fantastic work and collectively make this one of the best and most important films of the decade.

no-country-for-old-men

2: Lost in Translation

My personal favourite out of all the films on this list, or in this decade, Lost in Translation is the deceptively simple story of two people who meet in Tokyo and form a relationship that’s more meaningful than they could have previously imagined. It features excellent performances by both Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, who have brought characters to life here that I have grown far too attached to and fond of. This is easily one of my absolute favourite films.

lost-in-translation-scarlett-johannson

1: Adaptation

I know of no other film which so confidently, nor so successfully breaks itself apart and exposes itself. This is unquestionably a fantastically handled film that is about film; it’s about itself, the creation of itself and then the evolution of itself. Not only is it incredibly clever though, it doesn’t come across as pretentious but is instead warm hearted, funny and occasionally touching with great performances given by Nicholas Cage, Meryl Streep and Chris Cooper. I cannot recommend Adaptation enough.

adaptation1_1024

What an outstanding list. A BIG thank you to James for contributing his list this week. Remember, check out the criteria for submitting your own list above. Have a great weekend!

About Joseph@thecinemamonster

Aspiring writer who absolutely adores film and television. thecinemamonster.com

Posted on September 20, 2013, in The Guest List and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Great post, really enjoyed reading it.

  2. Excellent work here today! Adaptation is a true classic!

  3. great list! a very cool read. good job!

  4. Thanks for having me and for the very kind words!

  5. Great list James, some really brilliant films here. I haven’t really considered Adaptation before but it’s on my radar now.

  6. Reblogged this on Mr Rumsey's Film Related Musings and commented:
    Head on over to The Cinema Monster to visit a great site and read my list, and then be sure to check out Joseph’s TIFF reviews!

  7. Great choices! 🙂 Wow – we only had one the same! (Lost in Translation). Kill Bill was VERY close to making my list. I had a ton of honorable mentions and that was one but Joseph didn’t allow them. Lol! Can’t believe I have yet to watch City Of God, Battle Royale & No Country For Old Men. Hero & The Pianist were both excellent films too. I need to give Spirited Away a re-watch now that I’ve watched more Ghibli and that was my introduction to it years ago.

    • Hey! I resent that ;). You’re allowed to use an honourable mention section. How have you not seen No Country for Old Men!?

    • Thank you!
      I know, when i looked at your list I realised how different they were, but couldn’t really say at the time. It’s good to hear that Kill Bill nearly made it on there. I can re-watch that film endlessly!
      Oh you seriously need to get onto watching those three, I promise you they are all great watches!
      Spirited Away was my first Ghibli too and I only grew to really admire it once I became a little more familiar with anime years later.

  8. Fantastic movies! I just watched City of God the other day and it truly deserves to be on the list.

  9. This is a really great list! So glad that Spirited Away, Lost in Translation and Battle Royale made the cut.

  10. Fantastic list, James! Of course, kudos on numbers 7 and 8.

  11. 🙂 Very nice top ten, James!

Leave a Reply

