71st Golden Globe Awards: Nominations and Predictions:

2014-golden-globe-nominations-announced

Hi all, below you’ll find the full list of nominations for the 71st Golden Globe Awards, which will be on this Sunday, January 12, 2014. I didn’t include the nominees for Television, seeing as I don’t watch enough shows to warrant a meaningful opinion. Although, I do love some of the shows that were fortunate enough to garner a nomination. You’ll find my prediction for each category written beside the corresponding film, actor, composer, director. Keep in mind that my predictions are merely guesses based on the film and the people picking the winners, not on my personal preference. Be sure to let me know your predictions in the comment section below!

 BEST MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

12 YEARS A SLAVE (Prediction, Winner)

Plan B Entertainment, New Regency Productions and River

Road Entertainment; Fox Searchlight Pictures

CAPTAIN PHILLIPS

Columbia Pictures; Sony Pictures Releasing

GRAVITY 

Warner Bros. Pictures / Esperanto Filmoj / Heyday Films;

Warner Bros. Pictures

PHILOMENA

Pathe, BBC Films, BFI, Canal+, Cine+, Baby Cow/Magnolia

Mae; The Weinstein Company

RUSH

Universal Pictures, Cross Creek Pictures, Exclusive Media,

Imagine Entertainment, Working Title, Revolution Films;

Universal Pictures

BEST MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

AMERICAN HUSTLE (Winner)

Columbia Pictures and Annapurna Pictures; Sony Pictures

Releasing

HER (Prediction)

Warner Bros. Pictures / Annapurna Pictures; Warner Bros.

Pictures

INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS

Mike Zoss Productions, Scott Rudin Productions, Studio

Canal; CBS Films

NEBRASKA

Paramount Vantage; Paramount Pictures

THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

Paramount Pictures and Red Granite Pictures; Paramount

Pictures

 BEST SCREENPLAY – MOTION PICTURE

SPIKE JONZE, “HER” (Prediction, Winner)

BOB NELSON, “NEBRASKA”

JEFF POPE, STEVE COOGAN, “PHILOMENA”

JOHN RIDLEY, “12 YEARS A SLAVE”

ERIC WARREN SINGER, DAVID O. RUSSELL, “AMERICAN HUSTLE”

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

CHIWETEL EJIOFOR, “12 YEARS A SLAVE”

IDRIS ELBA, “MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM”

TOM HANKS, “CAPTAIN PHILLIPS”

MATTHEW MCCONAUGHEY, “DALLAS BUYERS CLUB” (Prediction, Winner)

ROBERT REDFORD, “ALL IS LOST”

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

CATE BLANCHETT, “BLUE JASMINE” (Winner)

SANDRA BULLOCK, “GRAVITY”

JUDI DENCH, “PHILOMENA” (Prediction)

EMMA THOMPSON, “SAVING MR. BANKS”

KATE WINSLET, “LABOR DAY”

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

AMY ADAMS, “AMERICAN HUSTLE” (Prediction, Winner)

JULIE DELPY, “BEFORE MIDNIGHT”

GRETA GERWIG, “FRANCES HA”

JULIA LOUIS-DREYFUS, “ENOUGH SAID”

MERYL STREEP, “AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY”

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

CHRISTIAN BALE, “AMERICAN HUSTLE”

BRUCE DERN, “NEBRASKA”

LEONARDO DICAPRIO, “THE WOLF OF WALL STREET” (Winner)

OSCAR ISAAC, “INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS”

JOAQUIN PHOENIX, “HER” (Prediction)

 BEST DIRECTOR – MOTION PICTURE

ALFONSO CUARÓN, “GRAVITY” (Prediction, Winner)

PAUL GREENGRASS, “CAPTAIN PHILLIPS”

STEVE MCQUEEN, “12 YEARS A SLAVE”

ALEXANDER PAYNE, “NEBRASKA”

DAVID O. RUSSELL, “AMERICAN HUSTLE”

 BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

THE CROODS

DreamWorks Animation LLC; Twentieth Century Fox

DESPICABLE ME 2

Universal Pictures, A Chris Meledandri Production; Universal Pictures

FROZEN (Prediction, Winner)

Walt Disney Animation Studios; Walt Disney Pictures

 BEST ORIGINAL SCORE – MOTION PICTURE

ALEX EBERT, “ALL IS LOST” (Winner)

ALEX HEFFES, “MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM”

STEVEN PRICE, “GRAVITY” (Prediction)

JOHN WILLIAMS, “THE BOOK THIEF”

HANS ZIMMER, “12 YEARS A SLAVE”

 BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR (FRANCE)

(La vie d’Adele, chapitres 1 et 2)

Quat’sous Films; IFC Films

THE GREAT BEAUTY (ITALY) (Winner)

(La Grande Bellezza)

Indigo Film, Medusa Film, BABE Films; Janus Films

THE HUNT (DENMARK) (Prediction)

(Jagten)

Zentropa Entertainment; Magnolia Pictures

THE PAST (IRAN)

(Le passé)

Memento Films Production, France 3 Cinema, BIM

Distribuzione;

Sony Pictures Classics

THE WIND RISES (JAPAN)

(Kaze tachinu)

Studio Ghibli; Touchstone Pictures

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

SALLY HAWKINS, “BLUE JASMINE”

JENNIFER LAWRENCE, “AMERICAN HUSTLE” (Prediction, Winner)

LUPITA NYONG’O, “12 YEARS A SLAVE”

JULIA ROBERTS, “AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY”

JUNE SQUIBB, “NEBRASKA”

 BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

BARKHAD ABDI, “CAPTAIN PHILLIPS”

DANIEL BRÜHL, “RUSH”

BRADLEY COOPER, “AMERICAN HUSTLE”

MICHAEL FASSBENDER, “12 YEARS A SLAVE” (Prediction)

JARED LETO, “DALLAS BUYERS CLUB” (Winner)

 BEST ORIGINAL SONG –MOTION PICTURE

“ATLAS” — THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE

Music by: Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion

Lyrics by: Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion

“LET IT GO” — FROZEN

Music by: Kristen Anderson Lopez, Robert Lopez

Lyrics by: Kristen Anderson Lopez, Robert Lopez

“ORDINARY LOVE” — MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM (Winner)

Music by: Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen, Jr, Brian Burton

Lyrics by: Bono

“PLEASE MR. KENNEDY” — INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS (Prediction)

Music by: Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Lyrics by: Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

“SWEETER THAN FICTION” — ONE CHANCE

Music by: Taylor Swift, Jack Antonoff

Lyrics by: Taylor Swift, Jack Antonoff

Fine, you caught me, I did mix in a little bit of my bias into the predictions. That being said, if I had my way, “The Wolf of Wall Street” would be taking home its fair share of Globes. I feel however, that it won’t get the respect and recognition it deserves sadly, that goes for the Oscars as well. I still carry hope thought, you never know…

About Joseph@thecinemamonster

Aspiring writer who absolutely adores film and television. thecinemamonster.com

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Award Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I’m watching Prisoners right now and I think Hugh Jackman should win something…

  2. Cool post. I got my predictions post scheduled for Saturday. We don’t seem to agree on many.

  3. Still haven’t seen Her. Aargh. But otherwise I think your predictions very sensible. My guess is Blanchett wins the actress award, but Dench clearly has a very good shot, too.

    • You really need to see “Her.” I tried to be sensible and take into account who’s picking the winners. Obviously, if I had my way, the results would be very different…

      • Obviously. I’d even have some different nominees. 😉

        As to Her: I know. It hasn’t hit a single theater around me yet, not even the downtown area art house theaters. Hence, my argh.

  4. I’m guessing that either 12 Years A Slave or Gravity are going to sweep. I hope Inside Llewyn Davis wins many awards though, especially since it received absolutely nothing from the guilds.

    • It seems like the winners are pretty predictable this year. Although, I did empathize with you. I hope Inside Llewyn Davis takes a few, it’s my second favourite film of the year, The Wolf of Wall Street being number one. Hope Leo and company take a few home as well.

  5. I’m going to see ‘Her’ this weekend and am excited about it. However, I’m going to bet ‘Wolf on Wall Street’ will win best comedy/musical. Also, I’m rooting for Blanchett for ‘Jasmine’ and I think Matthew M. will win for his role in ‘Dallas Buyers Club’.

    • “Her” is amazing, I hope you enjoy it! I do hope “Wolf of Wall Street” wins, but I don’t think critics and the academy are too pleased with it. It’s my favourite film of the year, but I don’t think it will be recognized as such. No doubt McConaughey wins for DBC and I’ve yet to see “Blue Jasmine.”

  6. I really hope Lawrence doesn’t win. I mean I’m not a big fan of Lupita in 12YaS but Lawrence has no business being nominated in the first place.

    • I didn’t mind Lawrence’s performance, but I agree with you, I don’t believe it’s award-worthy. Sadly however, that seems to be the way the tide is rolling. I picked who I think is going to win more than who I want to win. Lupita really didn’t impress me, well, not as much as she did everyone else it seems. Out of those nominated, I’d probably pick Julia Roberts, although Osage County wasn’t as strong structurally, the performances are still top notch.

    • What an amazing site you have :). I’ll be stopping by as much as I can!

  7. I think 12 Years A Slave fits the mould for Best Film. Not sure if it’ll get the Oscar so we’ll wait and see. Loved Captain Phillips though – that was much, much better than I ever thought it could be. A thriller with one of the most devastating finales.

  8. Seven correct! – congratulations!

    • Lol, thanks Charlie! I got most of the major ones correct, and had I picked with my heart, would have selected Leo for best actor, just thought with all the negativity surrounding the film, he wouldn’t have been chosen. Oh well, still super proud for him :). 50% isn’t bad!

Leave a Reply

