The Cinema Monster Update & 2014 Roundup Part 1

cropped-hr_interstellar_1.jpg

This post officially puts an end to The Cinema Monster’s hiatus of 2014! If you hadn’t noticed, I’d neglected the site for roughly two months, for a variety of reasons, the most prominent of which was a lack of passion. Writing reviews simply became too much of a chore, I’d lost any remaing drive and decided to set my most beloved hobby aside for a while. I won’t bore you with the several other aspects that led to The Cinema Monster being pushed to the backburner, just know that from here on out I will do my utmost to post content…weekly, at the very least.

I don’t have any reviews completed at the moment, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been watching flicks. I’ve kept up with the cinematic universe during my absence and have nearly seen every film I set out to in 2014, with the exception of an important few. For now, I will simply list the films I’ve seen below with my rating alongside. I will do my best to get reviews posted for each film listed, but that will take some time. However, I plan on reviewing each film I see in 2015 as close to their release as possible, so I never fall behind again.

Sometime before the end of the month, I’ve scheduled the second half of my 2014 roundup, once I’ve seen the remaining films on my list. Next week, The Cinematic Katzenjammer, a site I contribute to, will be publishing a summary of our most anticipated films in 2015 which I will reblog for your viewing. Additionally, I have two new Vote! polls that I hope to release sometime next week, which I hope you all will participate in. Finally, I’m currently scrambling together my list of 2014’s best films, which I will also publish before the end of the month, again, once I finish seeing the remaining films on my list.

Over the next couple of weeks, expect the appearance of The Cinema Monster to change as well. And before I forget, a post laying out the Oscar nominations and my predictions will also be out before the month’s end. I know there’s a lot to catch up on and digest here, but I hope you’ll stick it out with me. I pray I didn’t lose too much of you during my unwarranted absence, please feel free to lay into me in the comment section below. The truth is, I missed this more than I’d care to admit and I need to get this site back to where it was before this mess took hold. I will also be catching up on all of your blogs, because simply, I missed you all too damn much. Lastly, I’ve made it my New Years resolution to be more active on Twitter, so follow me (@cinema_monster) if you don’t already.

Now, without further delay, on to the roundup!

’71:  9 out of 10

99 Homes (2015): 8 out of 10

The Babadook: 9 out of 10

Birdman: 9 out of 10

The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them: 8 out of 10

The Drop: 8.5 out of 10

Force Majeure: 9 out of 10

Foxcatcher: 8 out of 10

Frank: 8.5 out of 10

Gone Girl: 9 out of 10

The Guest: 9 out of 10

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies: 8 out of 10

Inherent Vice: Rating Pending Second Viewing

Interstellar: 9.5 out of 10

Kumiko: The Treasure Hunter (2015): 9 out of 10

Mommy: 9 out of 10

Predestination: 7.5 out of 10

Starred Up: 9 out of 10

Still Alice: 7.5 out of 10

Suburban Gothic: 5.5 out of 10

Two Days, One Night: 8 out of 10

 

 

About Joseph@thecinemamonster

Aspiring writer who absolutely adores film and television. thecinemamonster.com

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 43 Comments.

  1. Good stuff! You have no idea how much I want to see Two Days, One Night. Still hasn’t opened up over here.

  2. Good to see you back, Joseph. I went through a similar ordeal and hiatus when it came to reviewing but like yourself, I couldn’t keep away.

  3. Welcome back, my friend!!

  4. Nice, man. Looking forward to some reviews! Bummed to see that score of Suburban Gothic, though.

  5. Sound list! I HAVE to rent and catch up with The Dissappearance of Eleanor Rigby. Big hole in my viewing….

  6. Great to have u back mate, most of the movies on your list are truly phenomenal, although I haven’t seen a couple

  7. Great to have you back bro. Yeah, I’ve been struggling a bit with that recently. A rest can be a good thing, eh? Look forward to seeing your new reviews.

  8. A warm welcome back! 🙂 Wow, can’t wait to read your Interstellar review and all the others you’ve listed.

  9. JOSEPH!!!!!!!! I hope to see you around more! Missed you!

    5.5 for Suburban Gothic? Dagnammit, and I absolutely cannot wait for that one :/ We will see how I feel about that.

    Glad to see we are mostly the same about The Guest ❤ I freaking loved it to bits 😀 😀

    Definitely a solid list!

    • My dearest Zoe! I’ve missed you wholeheartedly and I’ll do my best to stick around ;). Suburban Gothic is a weird, yet oddly entertaining flick. The horror is top notch, but it gets bogged down in its incomprehensible story and low – brow hilarity. Still, it’s a fun flick to mess around with. Oh my goodness, The Guest is phenomenal! One of my favorites this year! We should have a discussion on its brilliance!

      • Yessss! I hope you stick around, even if it is sporadically. Just don’t leave us cold turkey again! Well, hopefully we get it soon then I will see. Love Gubler, and the trailers were just awesome. My review for The Guest goes up today… we must certainly have a gushing session about it soon 😀

  10. Welcome back! Looks like it’s been some pretty good watching!

  11. Glad to see your back! Had a bit of a break myself over the last few months, feels good getting back into the rhythm of things.

    Adam.

  12. Glad you’re back, Joseph. We all need a hiatus and a break to recharge those creative batteries. Just recently went through a hiatus myself and even though I am back to posting content, I do not rush it or force the reviews because, like you said, it can become a chore and feel like work instead of a fun hobby. It isn’t so important for me to keep up with the Jones anymore, to coin a phrase.

    Looking forward to your up-coming material and your round up has some great titles, there! Glad you enjoyed The Babadook and The Guest. Great films.

  13. Nice to see you back. Looking forward to your new content.

  14. Nice stuff. Looking forward to read more from your insights on films! Thank you.
    Adrian

  15. Glad to see that your love of film has not vanished. It is always a wise move to take a break whenever the hobby starts feeling like work. Do you find yourself watching even more films now than when you were creating content regularly? At times, I find it rather refreshing to simply watch a film without ever having to write about it.

    Of the films you listed, I still need to catch up with 71, Starred Up, Rigby and Two Days, One Night.

    • My love for film will never vanish! Actually, since I’ve stopped writing for business, I’ve watched a ton of flicks, more than usual in fact. Weird how that works. Definitely do the Jack O’Connell double feature, two of my favourites this year! Thanks a bunch, buddy :).

  16. Welcome back! Oh man seeing the scores, you better avoid my review for Interstellar then 🙂 Though it did dominate my best scenes list so it’s not all bad.

  17. Welcome back, Joseph!!! You have definitely been missed!!!

    P.S. I hope you’re coping with Benny’s engagement/pending fatherhood alright. If you want to eat ice cream and watch videos of puppies or something, I am always here…

  18. Yeah dude, it’s great to see ya again! You’ve always been consistent around DSB so it doesn’t feel like much time has been lost but it’s exciting to know new stuff will be posted on The Cinema Monster. Great news man!

Leave a Reply

